Helsinki University

Helsinki University of Finland is ranked among the most prestigious universities in the world. It was founded in Turku in 1640 and moved to Helsinki in 1829, and since then has been named Helsinki University.

The most famous and largest university in Finland, Helsinki University of Finland, is among the top 100 universities in the world and offers academic degrees in 6086 programs. In 2015, 4682 PhD students were enrolled. The University of Helsinki has four campuses in the city of Helsinki, and 22 percent of students are international.

The courses at Helsinki University are offered in two languages, Swedish and Finnish.  With respect to master’s and doctorate degrees, courses are taught in English, which is practically the third language of instruction. University of Helsinki has been established in Europe to promote its position as a multi-disciplinary university.

Helsinki University of Finland consists of 11 colleges:

  • School of Philosophy
  • School of Law
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Art
  • School of Sciences
  • School of Pharmacy
  • School Environmental and Environmental Sciences
  • Behavioral Sciences
  • School of Social Sciences
  • School of Agriculture and Forestry
  • School of Veterinary Medicine

Aalto University

Aalto University is located at the city of Helsinki, Finland. It was founded in 2010 with the merger of three major universities in Finland:

Helsinki University of Technology – founded 1849.

Helsinki School of Economics – founded in 1904.

University of Art and Design Helsinki – founded in 1871.

Close cooperation between science, business, and art communities has led to the strengthening of international education and research In Finland. In January 2010, the Finnish government consolidated the three colleges, aiming at enhancement and promotion of innovation, and founded the Aalto University.

The university was named “Aalto” to cherish the renowned Finnish architect, Alvar Aalto, designer and graduate of the former Helsinki University of Technology. He also played a major part in designing a large part of the main campus in Otaniemi.

Aalto University has nearly 17,500 students and 4,000 employees, the second largest university in Finland. The main campus of University of Aalto is located at Otaniem, where engineering colleges as well as various undergraduate courses at the Faculty of Business offer courses at different educational levels. The rest of the Faculty of Business is located in Töölö. Art school, design, and architecture are mainly located in Arabianranta. All university activities by 2020 will be on campus at Otaniemi University.

Students who had been admitted to this university before 2017 were offered free education at the university. But then, after the approval of government, Finnish universities are required to receive tuition from international students outside the European Union.

Colleges of Aalto University

As mentioned before, Aalto University was formed from the merger of the three universities, and then there were six distinct faculties. Each faculty has several departments and laboratories as well as a number of separate research units. These colleges are:

  • Faculty of Arts, Design, and Architecture (ARCA Aalto)
  • Faculty of Chemical Engineering (Aalto CHEM)
  • Faculty of Economics (Aalto BIZ)
  • Faculty of Electrical Engineering (Aalto ELEC)
  • Faculty of Engineering (Aalto ENG)
  • Faculty of Science (Aalto SCI)

The University of Turku

The University of Turku, Finland, is the third largest university in Finland, founded in 1920 in the city of Turku, with more than 20,000 students. The main campus of the University of Turku is located in the city of Turku in the southwestern of Finland but has branches in the cities of Rauma, Puri, and Salo. The University of Turku is a member of the Coimbra Group, which includes a group of prestigious universities in Europe. More than 1,600 international students from 95 different countries graduate from this university each year. The University of Turku has a global ranking of 208.



The colleges at University of Turku, Finland include:

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Mathematics
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Law School
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Education